top of page

Morning Makeup Routine for When You're Late

You just woke up. It's 7:40am. You're supposed to be in class or at work by 8:00am. How do you get ready in-between the sips of coffee and hyperventilating as you're running late? These are the 5 basic steps I try to fit in within 10min when I'm running late but still want to look like I had an hour to get ready:

1. Cleanse

Since buying micelle water, I've been able to simplify my routine down to a one minute cleanse. You can either use a cotton ball, towel, or baby wipe to apply the water then wipe all over your face. You will be astounded at how clean and refreshed your face feels afterward. I am currently a big fan of the micelle water from Evoluderm, a French based company, which you can get for $4.99 from Ross.

2. Moisturize

Depending on the season, I'll reach for a heavier face lotion in the winter like Kiss My Face Olive & Aloe Moisturizer (also amazing for nighttime moisturizing) or if it's summer I love The Body Shop Tea Tree Mattifying Lotion which helps control oil in the T zone areas at least until the afternoon on a typical work day.

3. Prime

I was deciding whether to add this step because depending on how late you are and how oily your skin is, you could go straight for the foundation. The primer will give you more of the "I had an hour to get ready" look so if you're able to, then add this step! Black Radiance True Complexion Shine Control Primer and The Body Shop Instaglow CC Cream are two products that I would suggest for easy (and quick) application with a brush or beauty blender.

4. Foundation

I love foundation. For several years, I stayed away from it because I was scared that it would break my skin out. Now I reach for the foundation almost everyday and am constantly on the search for the perfect shade. I have tried cream-to-powder, powder, and liquid formulas but have found that the liquid formula left the best finish on my skin. An easy foundation to apply is the Black Radiance Color Perfect Liquid Foundation that dries matte and has medium coverage. I use the shade "brownie" and it matches my undertones perfectly. For those of you who are looking for a higher end foundation for special events, I also recommend the Dior Skin Nude Foundation. It has SPF 15 and almost makes my face look airbrushed. I use the shade "dark beige".

5.Mascara

They say that the eyes are the window to the soul so why not add some drapes? When you're rushing to get somewhere, you don't have time to keep correcting the mascara if it clumps or begins to flake. I've used expensive and cheap mascaras but found that Milani Runway Lashes gave the higher end mascaras a run for the hills. There is a noticeable difference in your eyelashes when applied.

6. Smile

I know, I know. I said 5 steps but sometimes it's important to remind yourself that whatever the day throws at you...you'll be able to handle it. So smile, breathe, and remind the world how powerful you can be one day at a time.

“If you smile when you are alone, then you really mean it.” ― Andy Rooney

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page